question

acidbraker avatar image
acidbraker asked

Small solar solution for Marine use

Hi there, first post...I'm brand new to the solar game and trying to get my head around it. My plan was to use a LiTime mini lifepo4 12v 100ah battery to power all the accessories on my smallish fishing boat. I just purchased a Victron smart solar 75/10, and planned to use a small flexible Voltset 30W panel to charge/maintain the battery through the mppt. I'm new, so I think I messed up and will be unable to use that small of a panel. My question is, what can I use? I'm trying to run as small and light as possible. I plan on just placing the panel up on top of the cloth bimini top. Thanks for any advice.

smart solar set-up helpsolar sizingmarine mfd app
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
dc-marine avatar image
dc-marine answered ·

Your 30w panel will work to maintain the battery and slowly charge it, but may not be sufficient if you go out several times a week. You may want to look into a 100w panel instead.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

acidbraker avatar image
acidbraker answered ·

I was looking at the specs for the Victron 75/10 - I was kinda thinking that the 30W panel might not have enough oomph to make the +5 volts to push the MPPT into charging mode. It also says that it recommends a minimum of 36 cells. The Sun power 100W flexible panel only has 32 cells if I'm counting right. What am I missing?

2 comments
2 |3000

dc-marine avatar image dc-marine commented ·
Check the operating voltage rating of the panel. It must be 17vdc or higher. You can also connect two panels in series to increase the voltage and allow charging when shaded.
0 Likes 0 ·
kevgermany avatar image kevgermany ♦♦ commented ·