question

mhammer avatar image
mhammer asked

SmartSolar 150/45 setup w. 4 * 365W panels

Total beginner here.
This is for a hobby project, which, for a start, would not be connected to the main grid. I am aiming for a 24 V battery system, but I am not certain. I want to attach a inverter at some point in the future, but for now I am only going to use 24 V appliances.

It's for a home usecase and I have it all witin my small isolated garage. So it should not get colder than 10°C at the winter. (Location Denmark, EU)

What I have got:

• SmartSolar 150/45
  • 4 x 365 W panels (In a 2s2p config)
    • Pmax: 365 W
    • Vm: 34,00 V
    • Im: 10,74 A
    • Voc: 41,30 V
    • Isc: 11,30 A
  • 2s2p setup
    • 2 x 2 series
      • Voc: 82,60 V
      • Isc: 11,30 A (Factor 1,56 * 11,30 A = 17,63 A)
      • Connected with 6mm2 wire from panels to Y-splitter
    • Overall
      • Voc: 82,60 V
      • Isc: 22,60 A (Factor 1,56 * 22,60 A = 35,26 A)
      • Connected with 10mm2 wire from Y-splitter to SmartSolar
  • Fuse/Breaker box 40 A between panels and SmartSolar
  • Manual switch between SmartSolar and future batterypack (100 A)

What I haven't got yet:

• Batteries (LiFePO4, AGM or other?) (No high wattage demand appliances as of right now)
  • Inverter (Future project)
  • BMS (Is it needed if the batteries have one?)
  • Shunt
  • Energy battery monitor

My questions:

• If I buy a/multiple batteries with built-in BMS, do I need to get one seperate for the system (Between SmartSolar and the batteries?)
  • Should I get a SmartShunt or other similar device?
  • Do you ahve any recommendations for other equipment for my project?

Bonus info:

I want to have a RaspberryPi 4 runnning the Venus GX OS or similar, so I can integrate it to my Home Assistant setup. (I believe it's a cheaper alternative to the Cerbo GX, and I have the RPi laying around)

MPPT SmartSolarSmartShuntEnergy Meterleisure batteries150/35
2 |3000