question

asko58 avatar image
asko58 asked

Connecting Multiplus II to meter (Solaredge) avoiding ModbusTCP

Dear community,

first of all: Hello to everybody! This is my first post and I am quite new to the topic of ESS though I do have experience regarding electrical installations in general.

Right now I am considering installing a ~10kWh ESS into my home that adds energy storage capabilities to the already existing installation of 13kWp solar power on the roof. Right now energy metering is done via a Solaredge Modbus Energy meter (SE-MTR-3Y-400V-A) that is connected to the Solaredge inverter via modbus over RS485.

Now, if I were to install a Multiplus, I would like to re-use the data from the meter (there is no space for an additional Victron meter). As I understand there is a way of doing so using modbus over TCP and have the Multiplus get the data from the inverter (correct me if wrong). Sadly that seems do disconnect any other appliance (i.e. my home automation server) from the modbus TCP connection because there is ony one connection allowed. Of course I could only connect the Multiplus and read the data from the it via MQTT then, but what data does it publish? Only the meter readings or also the energy production values from the inverter?

Generally speaking, I would prefer using direct hard-wired RS485 or similar to using LAN, since it is independent from the availability of my home's network. So: Is there any other way to get the Multiplus to receive data from the meter? Can it connect to the Solaredge meter via the USB->RS485 dongle and be added to the RS485 bus between meter and inverter? If not, are there any other ways of connecting the existing meter and the Multiplus?

I hope somebody can shed a bit of light on this, otherwise I will have to think about a completely different setup.

Thanks in advance!

Multiplus-IIEnergy Metersolaredge
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.