question

e37 avatar image
e37 asked

Integrated BMS does everything?

Can a Super Pack with integrated BMS be used with a shunt? If not, how does one know if the battery is fully charged or low in charge?

I'm a beginner with respect to batteries and to Victron. Purchased a superpack 12v 100ah with integrated BMS and security. I have not used it. Thank you for your input.

BMSSmartShuntSuperPack
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
e37 avatar image
e37 answered ·

I believe I found AN answer after having posted my question. Sorry.

According to the data sheet no additional components are needed. If I understood correctly, the superPack will stop charging and discharging automatically. I am assuming it's 100% fully charged when it stops charging; and 80% discharge when it stops discharging. And one cannot connect it to victron connect app as it doesn't support bluetooth.

So there's norhing to do. It does all the thinking. If I am wrong in anything I've stated, kindly tell me.

Edit:

But I'm still perplexed as to how (without a shunt or monitor) one can know the SuperPack is fully charged; or how much charge is left while connected to an inverter with loads.

I believe this is a critical need that should have some solution. Consider a case of someone charging it with a solar panel, and who needs a fully charged battery. Consider that for some reason the battery cannot be left connected to the solar panel and must be disconnected. When should it be disconnected if there is no indication it's full?

Consider that it is disconnected from the solar panel and connected to an inverter with a load. When should the load be removed appropriately? Is one suppose to remove it only after the battery simply stops discharging?