question

jmustac avatar image
jmustac asked

How to record battery consumption?

I have an mppt solar charge controller which gives me lots of info regarding soar cell performance, and I have the bmv-712 battery monitor but that doesn't seem to give me any recorded daily data. I am trying to investigate why my solar panels don't appear to be keeping up with the load, and over time the batteries are running low. I was hoping to be able to analyse the daily drain on the batteries. Any advice on how to treacle this would be great. Warning I'm new to this whole solar world...

Thanks

monitoringbattery capacity
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
Paul B avatar image
Paul B answered ·

Have a look at the solar history on the connect app this gives you the last 30 days of high battery voltage and low battery voltage

so you can then see a trend of the voltages going lower as days go by and or when it last was fully charged this is the Absorbtion voltage being reached. as a high voltage reading

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

markus avatar image
markus answered ·

Hi @Jmustac,

have you heard of VRM?

https://vrm.victronenergy.com/landingpage

You could use it with a Venus Device or even for free, with VenusOS installed on a RaspberryPi.

Regards,

Markus

1 comment
2 |3000

jmustac avatar image jmustac commented ·

Thanks Markus, i do like the idea of this item; will check it out further.

0 Likes 0 ·
jmustac avatar image
jmustac answered ·

Thanks Paul,