question

deepstar50 avatar image
deepstar50 asked

Venus OS Rasp Pi 3B+ Wifi connection to Teltonika Rut951

Hi A newbie here with Rasp Pi 3B+ and Venus OS interfacing with Smart shunt & MPPT. The system is up and running at the location, which I can access remotely via VRM. My challenge is I am not able to get the wifi on the Pi to jump on to the router, hence I have a ethernet lead connecting the Pi to the router, which works fine. It's not convenient to move either device nor leave the ethernet cable as it is (it's a caravan). Now at home I get the Pi to join my BT router fine. So I am expecting it's a router settings / interface with the Pi/Venus OS that's the issue. The router on location is a Teltonika Rut951, and everything else can connect to it, Mac's, TV, iPhone, Kindles etc. The Pi sees the router and attempts to connect but fails..? Not sure where to go next, with the very long list of settings / IP addresses etc. Any one have any immediate experience of a similar set up, or any ideas? Thank you.

Venus OSwifi
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
Justin Cook avatar image
Justin Cook answered ·

Moving to the Modifications Space for more likelihood of visibility by other users with non-directly-supported systems!

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

jeroend avatar image
jeroend answered ·

Hi deepstar50, I have a similar setup with RPi and Rut951 working fine. (so at least it is possible ;-))

From experience I can say though that setting up a good Wifi network on the Rut951 can be a pain. Since other devices can connect (and stay connected) the basis should be good enough to go but you do not provide a lot of information here.