question

groningen avatar image
groningen asked

Blue Solar MPPT programming options (dongle vs GX vs ....)

Dear All

I am still new to the Victron equipment, so apologies if my questions were asked previously, but I did try to look at old posts for possible answers.

My Victron vendor sold me a 150/45 blue solar mppt, but I only "discovered" after the installation that I should have taken the SmartSolar unit as I need fine tuning for the (Lifepo) battery pack.

My question (s) :

1. Can I adjust the MPPT through the GXCerbo (VE-Direct connection), or is programming only possible with the Dongle? (not sure if new software is available via VRM/Cerbo that allows this, and if so, direction how to do this would be highly appreciated).
  2. Also, if I have multiple Bluesolar MPPT's, will they change automatically if I activate DVCC or should they be individually programmed though the dongle (out the box) before accepting DVCC? (or is DVCC only possible via dongle)
  3. I prefer communication via VE-DIRECT, but would you say that the dongle is necessary all the time or is it only applicable when doing programming?
  4. Should I just return the MPPT and get a new SmartSolar to eliminate problems down the line.
  5. Or am I missing some setup steps i.e. create a network with Victron App and all (non Bluetooth) MPPTS can be adjusted? (please share any extra steps if you think it will benefit the equipment (i.e. MP2, MPPT, Shunt, cerbo, etc)

I think I would most probably fine-tune initially, but after I have found the "ideal setting", I wish to set and forget and let the MPPT do the work.

Thanks in advance

MPPT ControllersBluetoothVE.Direct Bluetooth Smart Dongle
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4 Answers
JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi @Groningen