question

Tom Ranson avatar image
Tom Ranson asked

Migrating from flooded lead acid to LiFePo4 - battery recommendations and considerations

Hi all,

I currently have 8x Leoch DT126 240Ah (C20) flooded lead acid batteries in a 4s2p for 24V 480Ah being used in an ESS system. Let's just say that I am very underwhelmed with how they are performing, and I wish I had purchased LiFePo4 batteries in the first place.

I am now evaluating migrating to LiFePo4. I require around 200Ah of usable capacity at 24V, similar to my current 480Ah at 50% DoD.

I want to be as economical as possible, without making the same mistake again.

What would you recommend I purchase, and what considerations do I need to make with moving to LiFePo4? I am totally new to lithium batteries in solar systems, so please explain it like I'm five.

I believe I can install something like 2x 200Ah in a 2s configuration, and potentially expand this to a 2s2p if I need more.

I have in my current system:

8x Leoch DT126 240Ah FLA batteries (4s2p) for 24V 480Ah

2x MPPT 100/30

1x SmartShunt 500A

1x Multiplus ii 24V 70A/3kVA

1x Cerbo Gx

Some prominent questions:

1. Do I need to be looking for LiFePo4 batteries with an integrated BMS? Or can I use non-BMS batteries? Pros and cons?

2. How to link BMS batteries to the Cerbo Gx?

3. Recommendations for particular battery makes and models?

Many thanks in advance and please let me know if you require further information.

Lithium Battery
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Tom Ranson avatar image Tom Ranson commented ·
Do I need batteries which can communicate with the Cerbo? Or can I just use any generic LiFePo4 battery with an integrated BMS as a straight drop-in replacement for my current lead acid?
0 Likes 0 ·
1 Answer
snoobler avatar image
snoobler answered ·