question

rustythorn avatar image
rustythorn asked

newbie: MultiPlus-II 48V 3kVA 120V, Inverter RS SmartSolar 48/6000 and SmartSolar MPPT 100/20-48V

background: while i have some experience with setting up grid tie systems and building electric cars i would call myself a novice with off-grid battery systems and very little knowledge about victron systems.

overview: i'm building an all electric camper van for USA travel [60 Hz] on an EV platform. i will have a single lithium battery pack 48v 304ah with its own BMS. i will need both 120v and 240v but not necessarily at the same time. i think i can meet my needs with a combination of MultiPlus-II 48V 3kVA 120V and a Inverter RS SmartSolar 48/6000?

i will also be adding a SmartSolar MPPT 100/20-48V because i will have two different solar arrays. a 'small' one mounted on the roof of the van and a larger one that can be deployed while camping. these two arrays may not use the same type of panels and will likely be of different voltages. the smaller roof array will be 800-1000w and 55-100v [for the 100/20-48V] the larger array will be 1500-2500w and 80-450v [for Inverter RS SmartSolar 48/6000].

i assume all of that will be fine but i'm not sure how much other items i might need such as a Cerbo GX, or lynx items? i also don't see the smart-shunt on the victron website? has that been replaced with the lynx-shunt?

i see three possible combos of additional items: 1] just a lynx-distributor, 2] lynx-distributor and cerbo-GX or 3] lynx-distributor, cerbo-GX and lynx-shunt?

what are the pros and cons of each option?

Multiplus-IIMPPT Controllersinverter rs
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi @rustythorn

Random stuff..