question

si-mon avatar image
si-mon asked

Help with Cerbo GX and 48v Lead Acid battery system,

Hi

I've just had my third Cerbo GX delivered today with a serial number starting in 2215, I have a 48V lead acid battery system therefore, the system sits at around 53V normally.

I connected my first Cerbo GX before the batteries were at full charge, and it all went fine, then I had to swap the positions on the distribution bar as the cable lengths on my new Multiplus II were a little messy.

After switching the positions, the Cerbo GX never switched back on. I found out from another post here that there is an issue, and a 100V 100uf capacitor is a workaround as there are issues with Cerbo GX switching on, on 48v systems for a batch of them.

My 2nd Cerbo GX arrived along with the correct make and model of the capacitor suggested in the application note, so I set around connecting it all up. The good news is that I am an electronics engineer therefore, this all seemed simple. Connected it all up on my bench with a bench PSU, including the capacitor, and it all worked fine at 48v, programed it all up, then connected it up to my system, and after switching it on, the Cerbo GX never worked again. reconnecting it to my bench PSU, showed it didn't take any current. So number 2 was dead, and the capacitor didn't fix the issue.

NOW my third Cerbo GX has arrived and is in the "bad batch again", what to do??

• Connect it directly to my "48v" DC rail with the capacitor, which is Lead Acid batteries so is around 53v (same as last time)?
  • Use something like a buck DC-DC converter from 48v to 12v?
  • Return it to the Amazon seller and ask for one in the "good batch"?
  • GIve up on the Cerbo GX, use a PI, and either a DC-DC converter or AC power, and lose the ability to have extra temperature sensing using Victron sensors?