question

clump71 avatar image
clump71 asked

Blue smart ip22 charger 12/30(3)

• Hi I’m a noob so be gentle. I’m building a camper. Can I use the Blue smart ip22 charger 12/30(3) to charge my agm living battery and my starter battery at the same time to top up and when on hook up to support the living battery . Also the van might sit in winter for weeks can it keep both topped up.
  • Thanks in advance
battery charging
2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

klim8skeptic avatar image klim8skeptic ♦ commented ·
Bump.

I cant see any problems charging an AGM and a flooded start battery with the same standard charge preset. 14.4v bulk/absorb > 13.8v float > 13.2v storage.

Do you intend to hardwire the charger to the batteries??

0 Likes 0 ·
clump71 avatar image clump71 klim8skeptic ♦ commented ·
Thanks for the reply. I’m very confused. 1)I have 2 agm in rear running in parallel do I use one live from charger?

2) do I use a second live to go to starter battery ?

3) does the charger know when one is charged and stop but carry on charging the agm’s for example.

If not what’s the point in have 3 separate live charger cables.

Thanks

0 Likes 0 ·
1 Answer
gyzko avatar image
gyzko answered ·

The answer is "maybe".

It might work but it will not be good (or ideal) for the long term usage of your batteries. You have probably an AGM (living) and a FLA (starter). Different battery chemistry requires different charging profile. IP22 just support a single charging profile (Bulk and float voltage for example).

If you use a single charger, one of you battery will be either undercharged or overcharged. Both cases are bad for longterm usage of a battery.

The big question is "how much different" is the charging profile of your batteries...