question

alphalinux avatar image
alphalinux asked

Semi Off-Grid System; recommendations ?

Hi all

I'm fairly new to Victron products and need some advice for building a system to power my Home-Lab.

Goal:
Home-Lab should be powered by PV energy as long as there's enough power from pv panels and/or battery storage. As soon as there's no energy left to power my Lab it should automatically switch to Grid power. When there's again energy from pv/battery an automatic transfer to PV energy should occur.
This system shall NOT feed energy to the grid.

Already found a Automatic Transfer Switch with capability of Monitoring battery voltage; as soon as battery voltage drops a certain value it transfer to grid power and back to to PV when battery voltage above threshold. Unfortunately, this ATS is just a mechanical switch by relays. So, no phase sync to 50Hz grid does happen, which is quite dangerous for some reasons.

I very much appreciate any recommendations regarding product selection and design of such a system.

best regards,

pv-battery-ats-layout.jpg

MultiPlus Quattro Inverter ChargeroffgridAutotransformer
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
Mike Dorsett avatar image
Mike Dorsett answered ·

A multiplus inverter wiht battery already includes the transfer switch with phase sync - this can perform UPS function and will eliminate the need for an external transfer switch. Best to download a multi or quatro manual and look at the example schematics at the back of the manual.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Bruce Fergusson avatar image
Bruce Fergusson answered ·