question

bogeypro avatar image
bogeypro asked

Smart Shunt Installation, Negative Battery Cable is on the Negative Post

First time here and thank you for the support. I also am having a tough time installing my SmartShunt. I have an Airstream Trailer, with two 80Amp AGM batteries hooked in parallel, installed right from the factory.

One battery has a load going to the inverter, and the other one has the two BIG cables going to the system. By saying BIG, that means the negative cable is a big one that is attached to the negative post. I am sure there is a more technical term for this, but I am not an expert by any means.

From reading the instructions, I don't see how I am going to actually CUT that big negative cable, and somehow, and attach appropriately sized lugs to the each cut end of that big cable, so that each lug attaches to the Smart Shunt. Did I get that right?

I keep trying to upload a picture (.pdf, .png, .jpeg ) but each time it fails. Not sure what I am doing wrong. I always get "parsing response failed".

I'll try again with an official Wiring Diagram from Airstream. Nope, this time "somthing went wrong". I can't win. Please help, thanks.

SmartShuntwiring
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
knownot avatar image
knownot answered ·

Bolt cutters work, shears if it has fine strands. You will need the right cable lugs (electrical or automotive suppliers). Can be soldered with resin core solder and a gas torch. Or yank the cable and take it to an auto sparky.

3 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

kevgermany avatar image kevgermany ♦♦ commented ·
Not a good idea.
0 Likes 0 ·
knownot avatar image knownot kevgermany ♦♦ commented ·