question

busta999 avatar image
busta999 asked

New to site - Multiplus II & Pylontech batteries -

I have tried searching the forum but could not find an answer.

I am a total noob here so be gentle :-)

I am putting in an EV charger for the new car due in June.

I am buying a house in the next month, and I am looking at putting batteries into it and charge them up overnight and discharge over the remainder of the day.

I am looking at putting in about 20kWh of Pylontech batteries, preferably the US5000.

The house has a 100A supply.

Question:

if I put 5 x US5000 on a Victron Multiplus II - which Multiplus II (or multiple Multiplus IIs?) do I need to get to be able to charge the 24kWh batteries.

Lithium BatteryPylontech
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

9 Answers
wkirby avatar image
wkirby answered ·

I don't know where you live or what electricity tarriffs you have in mind, so I'll make some assumptions based on the UK market.

5x US5000 can charge with a maximum of 250A, which is 12-13kW.
This is about 56A on a 230V single phase supply.
You could charge you battery bank up in about 2 hours from stone empty.

Charging at 250A is probably not necessary though and even the 15kVA Quattro can "only" charge at 200A.
15kVA inverter is probably overkill for a normal house and you don't need to charge in 2 hours, realistically. 4 hours on Octopus Go or 7 hours on some other economy 7 tarriff.

So 100A charge current is probably more realistic and you don't want to hammer you battery with maximum charge rate each night.

The 8kVA MultiPlus can charge at 110A or ~5.5kW - 5.8kW which is more reasonable, ~25A from your mains supply. That would be around 22kWh in the 4 hour period.

A 5kVA MultiPlus can charge at 70A. This is a popular choice as it can provide enough power for the busy times mostly. Any peaks would come off the mains to fill in.