question

alex-2 avatar image
alex-2 asked

4 solar panels through individual MPPT

Hi

I have 4 x 175w Victron solar panels and 4 x 75-15 Smart MPPT

I was going to run each panel to it's own MPPT, that way if one panel is shaded it won't affect the output of the other three. Have i got that right ot am i best getting a bigger MPPT and connecting them all together in parallel to get a bigger combined output, or will the 4 individually give the same charge?

I'm no electrical engineer but a fairly competent DIY sailor.

The main battery bank in 4 x 100Ah Lithium and i am looking at getting an Orion Tr for charging them via the alternator and start battery bank.

any help or ppointers would be much appreciated.

Sorry, but i seem to be asking a lot of questions on here but i am loving learning and all the help available.

Many thanks

battery charging
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi @alex@alexalley.com

This is the optimum combo for applications like a yacht, with all sorts of selective shading like sails down to even rigging wires affecting output.

With one big proviso.. That panel V is much higher than battery V. So for 12V batts, a panel with spec of 17Vmp I'd call borderline.. might work, then maybe not at all. With twice that, like 34V, go for it.

2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

alex-2 avatar image alex-2 commented ·
Thanks for that John. The panels are Victron 12v 175 Bluesolar Mono Crystaline panels with a Vmp of 19.4v. Would that be sufficient do you think or build them in 2 sets to doulble the Voltages?
0 Likes 0 ·
JohnC avatar image JohnC ♦ alex-2 commented ·

@alex@alexalley.com