question

vicuser77 avatar image
vicuser77 asked

ESS export to grid mainly at defined hour intervals

Hello community!

I have the following task: find a way to use the Multiplus II to export energy to the grid at programmable hour intervals (day, night, independent of PV production times).

Why: At the moment I receive 0.05 € per exported kWh so I am studying the possibility to change my energy subscription to a hourly tariff based on the market price of energy. Each day the prices vary wildly from less than 0.01 € at noon to 0.90 € in the evening and 0.80 € at night with some peaks even more than that. My goal is to store PV production during the day and export it during the best paying hourly time slots to shorten my amortization period.

My system: Multiplus II 8000 as ESS with 60kWh LiFePO4 battery and a Fronius 8kW on the output, grid metering is done by the Multiplus II, all consumption occurs on output

Current usage: I am already exporting mainly at off peak times (mornings and afternoons) because the grid is swamped with PV energy at noon, raising the system voltage close to PV inverter shutdown values (> 256 Vac). Also my grid connection is not the best as I get about 0.8V raise for each kW exported.
I solved this by automatically lowering the battery max charge power value in Cerbo GX when the grid voltage is low (preventing battery charge) and raising the battery max charge power when the grid voltage is closer to 250 V to direct more energy to the battery.
2 x 3kW water heaters are on standby and ready to activate if grid voltage raises over 252 V when the battery is full.
This whole setup works perfectly and the Multiplus II stays connected to the grid while the Fronius PV inverter never trips anymore.
Before implementing this adjustment, at around 11AM the batteries were full, the PV inverter would shut down due to over voltage protection and the Multiplus II would disconnect from the grid.