question

jkrellner avatar image
jkrellner asked

Victron MultiPlus-II 12/3000/120-50 2x120V, GFCI interrupt when switching to mains

I am new to Victron products. I installed a Victron 3000VA Multiplus-II 2x120v in my fifth wheel camper. When in inverter mode, disconnected from the grid, powered by 3x 100Ah BattleBorn batteries, the unit properly supplies power to all 120v loads. I have a bluetooth VE Smart Bus dongle and can monitor the status in the VictronConnect app.

When I connect shore power over 15amp household GFCI outlet the Multiplus properly bulk charges, absorption charges, and then float charges I can continue to run all AC loads. The lights on front and the app all show this charging happening normally. When the Multiplus-II switches to mains upon completion of float charge (I know it is doing this because I watched it in the VictronConnect app) the unit stops charging the batteries my GFCI outlet trips and the inverter reverts to inverter mode off of the batteries.

I've tried setting the current limit to 9.5Amps in the VictronConnect app, and still get this behavior.

Help? Is this a software issue? A wiring issue in my camper?

-John

Multiplus-IIMultiPlus Quattro Inverter Charger
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
eluttkus avatar image
eluttkus answered ·

I am having a similar issue.