question

paulcooper avatar image
paulcooper asked

Controlling an openEVSE electric vehicle charger using Node-Red and MQTT

This is not so much a question but more of offering what I have created to others in the community. I have been using the Node-Red add-on in Venus OS v2.70~5-large-18 to control my openEVSE car charger via MQTT. It maximises the available power from the PV array to charge the car. When there isn't enough power it will use what is stored in my BYD batteries and when they're depleted it uses the mains. It is now stable enough that I have placed the json file and a brief explanation on GitHub (https://github.com/thepaulcooper/victron-openEVSE).

Disclaimer: I am not an expert in JavaScript or Node-Red so I am sure there are more effective ways of coding what I have created. But it works and I am now charging my car from the sun.

Venus OSNode-REDMQTTBYD
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
babvictron avatar image
babvictron answered ·

I hope you see this even though you posted like a year ago. Would a similar mqtt/node red setup work for doing load sharing where say you have 20 chargers you have to share 100Amps between? If only two cars are plugged in they get full charge, but 10 cars get 10amps each until they reach their charge limit? The more cars that reach their charge limit allows other cars to charge faster.

1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

paulcooper avatar image paulcooper commented ·