question

robster avatar image
robster asked

Integrating Multiplus ll with another brand of ESS (AlphaESS)

Newbie here, slowly getting to grips with a Victron install.

I currently have an Alpha ESS system on my property and I’m trying to integrate this with a Multiplus ll on the same phase.

The Multiplus ll is in also ESS mode, and has 24v/400ah LiFePo4 cells.

I’m having loads of issues during to install, which I’m gradually resolving with the aid of this forum & pl3nty of googling

The problem I’m having at the moment is the AlphaESS system is seeing the Multiplus ll as a load, so is discharging itself into it in order to charge the Victron’s LiFePo4 cells.

Is there any way of configuring it so the two ESS systems can run in parallel so they don’t keep charging each other’s batteries?

All advice gratefully accepted.

Regards,

Rob

Multiplus-II
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4 Answers
markus avatar image
markus answered ·

Hi, the only thing I can think of, is to control one ESS system with the other.

Victron gives you the possibility of NodeRED via the Venus Large Image.

Venus OS Large image: Signal K and Node-RED [Victron Energy]

It might be possible to control the Alpha ESS with some modbus control commands via NodeRED.

Or vice versa - control the Victron ESS with the AlphaESS.

ESS mode 2 and 3 [Victron Energy]

This is far away from being newbie stuff, but possible with some tinkering.

I would suggest to make your live easy and sell the Alpha and just only use one system. The Victron system ;o)

By the way: This is considered a modification, so I move this Question into the modification space, where the tinkerers live. Maybe someone there can help you further with that.

https://community.victronenergy.com/spaces/31/index.html

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

robster avatar image