question

steve-coward avatar image
steve-coward asked

Is the MPPT 200/100 VE.can adequate for handling these 4 LG 360W Neon2 Panels to a 12.8v 600AH LifeP04 battery bank

Looking for advice on the system I'm putting together for my houseboat. Hoping it's ok to run all 4 of these panels off the one Victron MPPT 200/100. Also looking for advice on the overall system and what cables I'd need for each section. Recommendations and concerns welcome. I'm new to this which is why I'm asking and trying to avert a huge mistake.

Including a snap of a Visio drawing and a PDF with links to all the devices below:

LL Solar System Final.pdf

-Victron MPPT 200/100 Specs

-LG Neon2 360W Panels x 4 panels

- Ampere Time 12.v 300AH LifeP04 x 2

-Ampinvt 3000w Low Frequency Pure Sine Inverter w/ 60a charger

screen-shot-2021-05-10-at-114750-am.png

Thanks for any advice and feedback in advance!

MPPT ControllersMultiPlus Quattro Inverter Chargersolar sizing
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
Ulrich avatar image
Ulrich answered ·

Do you know the Victron Energy MPPT calculator?

https://www.victronenergy.com/mppt-calculator

Here you can specify whether the modules are connected in series or in series (or both), which voltages and currents they supply. When all the data has been entered, the appropriate MPPT solar charge controller will be suggested. So you can't go wrong.

Cables should always be as short as possible and as thick as possible. And a plus cable always has to be just as long as the matching minus cable. If several batteries are used in parallel, the cables of all batteries must have the same length so that all batteries receive the same voltage.

There is a cable configurator on the Internet and also from Vicotron Energy that specifies these values.