question

kurtinge avatar image
kurtinge asked

Gracefully shutdown of Venus OS running on Raspberry Pi

Hi, guys !
I've been running the Venus OS on my Raspberry Pi for a couple of months now and it is really running smooth and ok - had some problems with discovery of a device, but it was caused by an defect cable. So here's the question?

Anyone who have opinions on how healthy it is to unplug this OS without running a graceful shutdown or halt? I do not know exactly how Venus OS handles memory cache, temp files, etc. There is no menu option that says anything about shutdown, only reboot, so I normally either just unplug it or do a cumbersome thing of logging in to ssh from my mobile.
Maybe the development department could put a shutdown option as well as the already existing reboot?

Venus OSRaspberry Pimodifications
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
dirkmuc avatar image
dirkmuc answered ·

Hi,

I never had any issue just cutting power. The Victron devices have the same code basis and they are running for years now without any issue to my knowledge.

Cheers

Dirk

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Kevin Windrem avatar image
Kevin Windrem answered ·

The Raspberry Pi community sites all sorts of issues with unclean shutdowns. Unix OS checks the file system and fixes most corruption on boot. But there are issues with flash memory that could spread a corrupt file to the entire card rendering it unusable. Some suggest the card can be permanently damaged.

However, I have several PIs running Debian and one running Venus that I routinely just turn off and have not run into a problem. I do carry a spare SD card with a backup of the one in my Venus Pi with me just in case.