question

raffadee avatar image
raffadee asked

220a battery protect

Hi,

I’m fairly new to this so please forgive me if I sound stupid lol

I just wanted advise on my wiring and if everything is correct, especially the wiring to and out of the 220a battery protect. I’ve attached a picture of what I plan to do

I want to integrate the bp in my 12v setup. I read that I couldn’t connect the bp inline with an inverter so I figured i would be ok to connect it directly onto the aux battery?

With my battery charger (redarc bcdc40d - wiring diagram included in picture below) it states that the low voltage disconnect (which in this case is the victron 220a batt protect) should be AFTER the battery and then to loads

Example: batt charger/solar regulator - aux batt - bp - loads

Victrons wiring diagram states that bp should be BEFORE the aux battery then to aux battery and then to loads.

Example: batt charger/solar regulator - bp - aux batt - loads

Also my bcdc charger has an inbuilt solar regulator in it so I’ll be connecting a fixed solar panel directly to that, but if I wanted to connect an extra solar blanket with its own regulator, would I connect that directly to the bp or directly to the battery.

I’ve heard that solar panels and maybe even battery chargers can make current go back through in the opposite direction so I’m basically trying to figure out in which order the bp goes and what I connect before/after as I want everything to flow in one direction through the bp (in to out) like the instructions say.

I’m also thinking of scrapping the bp altogether and connecting a relay to the bmv-712 smart to trigger a low/high voltage cut off but I can’t seem to find a simple diagram on how I would wire that up. If anyone has one, I would be extremely grateful if you could share that with me.

Regards,

Rafael

0631c4fb-a3f2-4c00-8492-2b471e0c651f.jpeg6fe5d468-3578-473f-83e8-06897a4384f0.png4a621470-0b90-4951-9564-128cdd7b725e.png

Battery Protect
2 |3000