question

karlheinzhaller avatar image
karlheinzhaller asked

Battery monitoring with Smart Shunt and Raspberry Pi

Proposal_Venus OS-RaspberryPi_Smart Shunt.pngCan somebody please confirm if the Smart Shunt can be connected to a Raspberry Pi running Venus OS.

I want to transmit the data over a CAT6 cable from a Shed to the House. See attached sketch.

Which RPi model would I need?

Please note I have no knowledge about RPi but a friend who knows that stuff.

Thank you.

Raspberry Pi
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4 Answers
Matthias Lange - DE avatar image
Matthias Lange - DE answered ·

Like any other device with VE.direct the SmartShunt can be connected to a rPi with Venus OS but you have to use USB for that.
https://www.victronenergy.com/accessories/ve-direct-to-usb-interface
You can extend the length with (active) USB extenders.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

kurtinge avatar image
kurtinge answered ·

Can't this be accomplished through VE. smart networking?

2 comments
2 |3000

jwfrary avatar image jwfrary commented ·

Maybe with a lot of hacking about!

Officially no

0 Likes 0 ·
Matthias Lange - DE avatar image Matthias Lange - DE ♦ commented ·

VE. smart networking is designed to transfer only a few information's between some devices.

https://www.victronenergy.com/media/pg/VE.Smart_Networking/en/index-en.html

0 Likes 0 ·
rod99 avatar image
rod99 answered ·

An old Raspberry Mod 3 is sufficient for Venus OS because Venus doesn't need much performance power. I'm using one with a connection to a Victron Solar Charger which is connected via USB to the Victron Charger. You can find lots of Raspberry 3's on eBay. Mod. 4 works too but needs more power. Mod. 2 would work too, but NOT Mod. 1

2 |3000

klaus-deiss avatar image
klaus-deiss answered ·