question

nick-wiggill avatar image
nick-wiggill asked

Motorhome advice? 1600-2400W 24V system, BMS, multi-MPPT for shade

My bus has a 24V alternator / starter setup. Seeking advice on a 24V leisure/office setup, as well.

I'm new to this. Does this setup make sense?

Panels: 4-6x 410W 24V / 49.5V Voc, 9.76A Imp each, used in PAIRS

Batteries:

• 2s2p LiFePO4 180Ah (total 600Ah effective to 80% DoD)

...OR...

• 2s4p AGM 200Ah (total 600Ah effective to 50% DoD)

Controllers:

• 3x Victron SmartSolar 100/20s (3x = top, left, right of vehicle) MPPT-synced with new 1.49 / May update(?) to adapt to partial shade
  • 1x BMV-712
  • 1x BMS-12/200? Needed if each 12V 200Ah battery already has a cheap BMS built-in
  • Something that can charge the 24V starter batteries as well? Recommend?

MPPT ControllersBMSBattery Balancer
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

nick-wiggill avatar image nick-wiggill commented ·

Bump. Bump.

0 Likes 0 ·
1 Answer
Michael Riley avatar image
Michael Riley answered ·

@Nick Wiggill. Nick, see you have had no takers - this can be frustrating. I can only say that each installation comes from a whole heap of previous experiences, knowledge and preferences. I will only make the following comments based on my experiences and preferences and yours are possibly different. Our system is used on a sailing catamaran on the East Coast of Australia.

a. System voltage. 48 V house has better 'power density' than 24 V and it is likely to be an issue of what 'consumers' you have; want to have and the $'s you want to spend. i.e. 24 V LED's are common; 48 V less so. Therefore additional componentry or equipment etc. I have moved from 12V to 24V Lithium.