question

sa-victron-user avatar image
sa-victron-user asked

Does the Victron system perform full UPS function?

I am new to this and my system was only commissioned at my holiday house a few weeks ago. My setup currently runs on solar all day (unless the weather is bad) and battery all night (unless the battery drops below 40%) other than 300 watts per hour of grid power. If the gird fails, my circuits which are designated as critical loads will run from the battery and 40% of the battery will give them around 8 hours. It appears to me (based on a few weeks of monitoring) that the system will be on “grid only“ power for about 10% of the time (presumably more in winter) and probably increasing to about 60% of the time when we are actually using the holiday home.

My understanding (and I may be wrong!) is that the system will protect from poor quality power (surges, high voltage etc.) from the grid when the battery is in use and when the solar is in use but not when the power consumed is “grid only”. Assuming this is correct, is there any way to protect the critical loads from dirty power all the time using the system or does one need a separate stand alone UPS?

Thanks in advance from a real newbie!

MultiPlus Quattro Inverter Chargerups
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4 Answers
JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi @ SA Victron User.

Presumably you're using a Multi or Quattro with the grid input passing-through to the loads. In this setup dirty power is certainly rejected if need be, and often impinges those with crappy generators.

The blue boxes in default mode are very particular about this, but can be 'relaxed' if you choose.

They can work as a fully-functional and safe UPS, or with custom modifications as you've applied.

There's no need for an additional UPS. Your power will be clean..

2 |3000