question

John Jarrett avatar image
John Jarrett asked

140 VAC between Ground and Neutral when on Grid/Shore Power with Brand New MultiPlus-II 2x 120V

Hopefully I can explain this dilemma well! Here goes. I am a fairly experienced electrician, not by trade, but have been trained and have done a lot of residential electrical work. Had a cheap sinewave inverter on my 5th wheel trailer and decided it was time to make things good and safe so ordered a MultiPlus-II 2X 120V 12 VDC inverter charger. Installed as per instructions and di review some YouTube videos to learn about any "gotchas". No problems during install other than I hate push pin connectors. Screws make more sense IMHO and easier.

In inverter mode/operation when the trailer is unplugged from grid power, i have proper hot, neutral ground conditions. I.E., 120 VAC from neutral to hot, and have no fault indication on a three lamp ground wiring fault outlet tester. When plugged into grid power (shore power), I have all three lamps lit on the three lamp outlet tester and have 120 VAC between neutral and hot, 120 VAC from ground to hot and 140 vac from neutral to ground on all of trailer outlets! The ground light on the tester, (usually the far left one and usually red in color) is very dim. When on shore/grid power, the GFCI breakers will not trip when testing them with the tester. When on inverter power, the GFCI breakers will trip when testing.