question

nathan-skelly avatar image
nathan-skelly asked

EV Charger Disconnecting - Node Red Implementation?

Hi There,

I've been playing around with Node Red to come up with a control logic for running the EV charger in an off grid situation. What I want to understand is whether there is a best practice in how you manage the messages to the charger?

The reason for my question, is since using the Node Red automation, I seem to have the EV station disconnecting very frequently, requiring me to switch it off at the switch board and back on to reset it.

I get correlation =/= causation, but it seems a touch convenient that it happens now.

Is there a best practice on how to do this? I've never coded before so this is all a learning experience for me, and Chat GPT only gets me so far.

Node-REDModbus TCPev charging stationevcs
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
matt1309 avatar image
matt1309 answered ·

Hi @Nathan Skelly

When you say disconnect do you mean fully crash/is unreachable via wifi? Or do you just mean the node goes offline for a period of time? ie could it be that the unit has always been disconnecting and reconnecting (maybe due to weak wifi) and you're just noticing it now because it's connected to node red and checking the status of the node?

Or by disconnecting do you mean the unit disconnects and never reconnects? Almost like it's crashed (if that's the case I'm not too sure, you could maybe share the automation code and someone might be able to spot something that is causing the EVCS to crash or have an issue.

2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

nathan-skelly avatar image nathan-skelly commented ·

Hi @matt1309