question

owen-a avatar image
owen-a asked

2 strings (3x panels) - which MPPT?

Hi all,

I have a hybrid install currently on my bar in my garden which consists of 3x 410w Sharp Monocrystalline panels facing in one direction (as seen by the image). The max I've seen them generate currently (given it's not the peak time in this time of the year) is about 1.01kW.

The max voltage I've seen (PV) is around 105v.

The max current I've seen (PV) is around: 9.52A

So around 1kW rounded.

Here is a photo:

1000039306.jpg

The idea is to have another three panels on the other side of the roof giving me a total of 6. The issue i think is, the sun rises from the left side, and swings around to the right side where the 3 panels are currently. This for me is the most optimum place for these existing panels to generate as much power as I can during the late morning to late afternoon.

I'm quite new to Victron products, however I have currently applied to the DNO for exporting, so my plan is to have a Multiplus 2 3kW inverter that supplies power to the bar instead of my current Chinese inverter.

My question is, if I want two strings like I described, what's the best cost effective MPPT controller? And will I need two? Combined with ultimately the Multiplus 2 for providing power to the house in the future.

I currently have battery storage (2x 100Ah LiFePo4) batteries.

Any help is much appreciated!

Thanks,

Owen

offgridongrid
1000039306.jpg (2.1 MiB)
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
nickdb avatar image
nickdb answered ·

This is what the MPPT calculator is designed for:

https://www.victronenergy.com/mppt-calculator

5 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

owen-a avatar image owen-a commented ·