question

jency avatar image
jency asked

SMA sunny tripower core2 not communicating

Hello,

I am trying to readout data from 2 sma pv inverter. one being sma sunny tripower 10.0 and sma sunny tripower core2 (110kva inverter) both are connected to the network.

In the past i had no problem connecting smaller types sma inverter following this guide online.

https://www.victronenergy.com/live/ccgx:ccgx_sma

I have read in a different post that something has change to the sunspec protocol of sma and that this could be the problem?

How can i work around this? could i be making some scrips myself to import this pv data.

I have seen a vide from the offgridgarage importing data direcly from some type of shelly dongles.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-R7bJeNVx0

could i use the same way t do this with sma inverter or any inverter for that matter?

I have read you can make you own driver but i have no experience in doing this.

My final solution would be adding extra powermeter to the system.

thanks in advance.

cerbo gx
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
matt1309 avatar image
matt1309 answered ·

Hi @Jency

The SMA inverters are integrated into the gx system using C++ drivers. They're available on github:

GitHub - victronenergy/dbus-fronius: Venus OS driver for Fronius PV Inverters as well as other Sunspec ModbusTCP compliant inverters

However you're right you can make your own custom driver. And a common one to use is shelly. There's plenty of community made drivers already. They tend to be written in python. Here's one as an example:

GitHub - fabian-lauer/dbus-shelly-3em-smartmeter: Integrate Shelly 3EM smart meter into Victron Energies Venus OS

However you can make your own. There's a pretty decent guide on victrons github page, with an example dummy script. You can even use the dummy script to make a virtual meter and just pass the meter data in via mqtt if you want.