question

salvun avatar image
salvun asked

MultiPlus 2 3PHase system to grow over time

Hello everyone, I hope this question has not already been asked to many times.

I want to quickly state that I do have a lot of electrical experience. As I am a trained electrician by trade. So this is not coming from the mind of a untrained individual.

So I own my own machine shop since a few years. As I made a career change and started my own business. The thing that bugs me is that we use a lot of power. Well over 20MW per year and I have been really looking into running my workshop here as much as possible of solar and off grid as I can. Since we have plenty of roof space still available and land to put solar on (Already have 20Kw Solar installed. This is the legal grid connected maximum if you want to avoid tons of red tape.)
There are a lot of legal limitations to grid tied solar setups, and the coming "Peak usage" charges are really pushing me into doing this.

My current setup:

3Phase +N 63Amp grid connection (Meter 1)

• 7,5Kw 3Phase screw compressor
  • 25Kw max. 3Phase CNC Mill #1 (Usually 5kw or less. But 22Kw motor with Ramp-up draw)
  • 25Kw max. 3Phase CNC Mill #2 (Usually 5kw or less. But 22Kw motor with Ramp-up draw)
  • 5Kw max. 3Phase CNC Mill#3
  • AC units to climate control the shop.

3Phase +N 32Amp grid connection (Meter 2)
  • House (Basic usage)
  • Office (Lighting mostly)
  • Servers (1.2Kw Servers)
  • Warehouse (Lighting and forklift charger)

Both meters are on the same property and the ultimate goal is to have the entire property on a Victron system with battery's charged as much as possible from solar. With a grid "Trickle" charge as a backup.

Since this entire plan would require a very expensive system to get going. Making me lean to build into this slowly and buying units section by section.