question

Peter H avatar image
Peter H asked

Cerbo GX with phone browser

Hi, I’m new with Cerbo GX so please bear with me if this is a basic question. I tried searching before posting with little success.

My GX is installed in a boat to monitor several tanks. No boat wifi or internet possibilities exist, but an offline, stable solution is the ambition.

Is there a way to set up the GX as a wifi hotspot so that a retired iPhone could serve as a remote control panel? Due to the age of the phone it can’t install Victron Connect but needs to use the web browser. Ideally, with the wifi configured on GX + phone, and a phone desktop shortcut to Safari, would allow me and the family to unlock the screen and click the shortcut (which opens the IP address of the GX). Could it be done?

cerbo gx
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
wilm avatar image
wilm answered ·

Hi Westpete,

you could switch the hotspot-function in your smartphone to on. Then CerboGX could connect to the phone which acts as a access-point. Knowing the ip-address of the cerbo, you should be able to connect.

1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Peter H avatar image Peter H commented ·

Thanks Wilm, that’s an interesting approach. The hotspot function on iPhone I suppose would be ”Internet sharing”? If so it requires the user to enable it several times a day through the phone’s settings. I would love to configure it once and then have them auto connect ever after, so the iPhone is as easy to use as the Touch 50 would be. Any ideas how to do that?

0 Likes 0 ·
Michelle Konzack avatar image
Michelle Konzack answered ·

I do not know, how old your iPhone is, but my older Android 4 phone with Firefox does not work and I get a strange webinterface.

However, in Theorie it should work (it works with a Lenovo Tab 4 8 and Android 8)