question

dennis84 avatar image
dennis84 asked

New Venus OS GUI beta

I just wanted to show my appreciation for the beta of the new Venus OS GUI available in the latest Venus OS builds.

It looks like a proper web app, running in all browsers, scaling, touch optimized, looks very good to me.

I am an app developer myself and I always thought there needs to be an app that works as dashboard and control like a Victron Touch device but on mobile devices with a local connection.

That means you could use a tablet(s) as a control and dashboard device for a Venus/GX system just like a Victron Touch device. I think that's a big deal and a very good move from Victron.

@Guy Stewart (Victron Community Manager) I am specialized in making native (iOS & android) apps from web apps. I would be happy to help with that.

Venus OSgui-v2
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4 Answers
Guy Stewart (Victron Community Manager) avatar image
Guy Stewart (Victron Community Manager) answered Ā·

Hi @Dennis84,

Thanks for the encouraging feedback.

I've moved this post over to the modifications because the new beta UI isn't quite ready for too many questions :)

Victron has been a long time supporter of the proactive developers, it's one of the reasons for our approach to open source and public beta software development.

It's also a bit of Victron history that one of our most senior software developers was also once an end user who put some of his spare time into making some Victron apps to improve his own UI and UX. His custom UI became what we are all using today.

Internally there is still a lot of development and design work that happens before it becomes visible the public beta cycle, and at this stage the focus is on delivering that without delay.