question

rhea avatar image
rhea asked

How is SOC calculated after adding a battery?

Hi there,

I’m a rank beginner at this and know very little. We are completely off the grid and initially had a 5Kw storage battery system installed in November 2018. - The two batteries that we had installed are BYD Rechargeable Li Type B-plus 2.5Kw.

In March 2023 we ordered and had installed another one of these batteries so the total battery capacity is now 7.5 kw.

It was installed by someone else and not the original installers.

Since then I am pretty sure that the SOC % does not correlate to the actual amount of energy used. For instance, we might use 1.4kw by running the dishwasher but the SOC will fall more than 19% (1400 being about 19% of 7500)

I think this might be because the total capacity of the system needs to be reset to 7.5 Kw but I don’t know how to do this.

Can anyone help please?

Thanks

Rhea

SOC
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
kevgermany avatar image
kevgermany answered ·

Probably a smart shunt or battery monitor (BMV) installed.

What tells you the state of charge? Screen, phone app? If it is a screen, what is it called?

2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

rhea avatar image rhea commented ·

I have both a phone app and also the screen on the ‘colour control’ monitor. They both give the same information. I am certain however that the sum of the discharge hour per hour does not equal the amount the batteries’ charge falls by - if that makes sense.img-4820.jpeg

0 Likes 0 ·
img-4820.jpeg (3.1 MiB)
rhea avatar image rhea rhea commented ·
Thank you very much for helping me with this problem. I very much appreciate it.
0 Likes 0 ·
nickdb avatar image
nickdb answered ·