question

helmut51 avatar image
helmut51 asked

RS Smart Solar: Shut-down and restart behavior

I am planning an (completely) off-grid solar EV charger for my garage. I am new in solar systems, but I have a background in electrical engineering. Just a few questions concerning the shut-down and restart of the RS Smart Solar (and in general solar inverters):

1. Shut-down due to DC input voltage below low battery shutdown level in practical terms means that it shuts down during night? [4.4.2. in the manual]
  2. Could it happen that on a bad rainy day the inverter is constantly switching on and off, because DC input is always somewhere between shutdown and restart level?
  3. What is actually meant by "shut-down", as the MPPT is still working and loading the battery, if possible?
  4. If the battery is full and the inverter is shut-down (during night) I could not supply any AC load?
  5. The inverter restarts based on the charge detect level, but also on the (re)start voltage (as implied by the paragraph on external MPPTs)? [in the technical specification the charge detect level is not mentioned, and the restart voltage is called start-up voltage (if that is the same)]

Sorry for the multiple questions, but I feel they cover the same topic.

smart solar set-up helpshutdown
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
Mike Dorsett avatar image
Mike Dorsett answered ·

Based on what I know about how Victron MPPT's work -

1) the MPPT will shut down if the input voltage is <1V above the battery voltage - whatever the battery voltage currently is.

2) No. Even on a very dark day,the open circuit voltage of the panels will be high enough to keep the MPPT in operating area. Thus if it's very dim, the output voltage will be at least 80% of the VOc, but the current drawn by the MPPT will be reduced considerably.