question

jpetzrick avatar image
jpetzrick asked

Control MPPT relay via Ruuvi temperature in node red?

Here is what I want to do- Switch the relay on my Smartsolar 150/70 based on a Ruuvi temp. I have the setup in place and I can switch it manually in the settings on SS150/70. One of the settings on the relay is by "Temperature (dimming)". What does that mean? What's dimming and where is it getting the temperature from? I'm just learning node red and have a few working flows so a total nubie. How do I get to the temperature from the Ruuvi? Is there a Ruuvi node I need to add? I haven't tried yet to control the relay from node red. I just got it installed yesterday. It seems like it should be fairly simple- Get the Ruuvi temp, if >##* then switch relay state. Reverse to turn off. Any body done this?

Raspberry PiRelayruuvi sensors
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

xsilvergs avatar image xsilvergs commented ·
Have you install the GX Large Image on the RPi? If not what?
0 Likes 0 ·
3 Answers
jpetzrick avatar image
jpetzrick answered ·

Yes, Venus OS large ver 2.92 on RPi 4 8 gig. Took a bit to get the 7" touch screen I bought working, but eventually got that working with Setup helper and some detective work. I dug into Node Red because I like programming. I have a few flows working and hope to do more now that I have everything installed (yesterday) in the motorhome. I even got the USB GPS working and the position shows up on the dashboard. I just looked deeper at the nodes available from Victron and I think the standard ones can see the Ruuvi temperature. I haven't tried it yet. I just want to turn a fan on in the electric bay when the Inverter heats up. Its not a Victron inverter so it complicates it a little. I think I will figure it out and report back.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.