question

ncr1 avatar image
ncr1 asked

MPPT showing 0W

I hope somebody can advise? I have a 75/15 smart solar mppt hooked up to a 150w solar panel and 105ah battery on my campervan. The battery is 5 years old and been used quite a bit. It was tested and showed 26% health, but then the person also said the solar panel was faulty and quoted me to replace it. Would a poor condition battery cause this? I was going to replace it with a 120ah AGM, but before I invest I would appreciate any advice.

I presume from the readout below the solar panel is working fine (sunny today). I notice the battery state is off, but it does go on intermittently. Could the mppt be faulty? The blue light flashes every 4-5 seconds and every 15 or so times (I didn't count) all three lights flash quickly 8 times. The history shows little activity.

Please treat me gently. I'm new to this so simple terms would help. Thank you.screenshot-20230226-095200.jpgscreenshot-20230226-100541.jpg

mppt state
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

kevgermany avatar image kevgermany ♦♦ commented ·
Suggest you also click on the why is my charger off at the bottom of the screen. This time it will tell you panel voltage too low, but in future...
0 Likes 0 ·
11 Answers
ncr1 avatar image
ncr1 answered ·

Sorry, just to add that I have checked the fuse in the controller and the 15a inline fuse and both are fine. I can't see any obvious wiring issues. I'll check again. The battery is less than a meter from the controller and the solar panel is about a meter from the controller.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

nickdb avatar image
nickdb answered ·

PV has to get 6V above the charge voltage, in the example it isn’t even 2V above so it won’t be able to charge anything.