question

4rvfun avatar image
4rvfun asked

Looking for Compatible Burglar Alarm

Hello, I am new to the whole Victron ecosystem and I have been losing my mind trying to find concrete information on this.

I am trying to set up a Cerbo GX so that it will give some kind of alert when there is motion detected inside an RV, but I don't know how to find a compatible motion detector.

Does anyone know what kinds of motion detectors would work in this situation, especially if they are wireless?

cerbo gx
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
pwfarnell avatar image
pwfarnell answered ·

A motion detector that has a volt free output contact could be connected to one of the digital inputs on the Cerbo GX and is able to be set as a burglar alarm in the Cerbo GX. Not sure about wireless. I found this which might work even though it is sold for switching lights and is UK as an example of what to look for, it has a volt free contact and would work from an RVs DC power.

https://www.faradite.com/products/motion-sensor-360-volt-free

5 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4rvfun avatar image 4rvfun commented ·
Thank you for the answer! I see they have a US store, but that one pretty expensive. I don't find anything else when I search 'volt-free' except from that same site. What exactly does volt-free mean, and are there any different names for it?
0 Likes 0 ·
pwfarnell avatar image pwfarnell 4rvfun commented ·
Volt free means that the ouput is just a switch, either open or closed, the switch does not output a voltage. It could be a relay contact. Also known as a dry contact.
0 Likes 0 ·

Thinking about this, my boat has a 12V motion sensor which turns on a small 12V light, I know this is UK again but it gives an idea, see http://www.velleman.co.uk/contents/en-uk/p552_pir416.html