question

marc-van-dijk avatar image
marc-van-dijk asked

Multiplus 12/3000, Active AC input disconnected

Hello community,

I am relatively new to the Victron world and have a problem with my Multiplus 12/3000/120-16 that is puzzling me.

I am upgrading my ships electric system to lithium and moving to "Victron blue" for the most of the system. I managed to purchase a second hand but nearly new Multiplus with a certificate that it was checked to work properly by a Victron listed dealer.

After swopping out my old charger for the Multiplus still with the old lead acid bank I had a working first start in "Charger only" mode. The Multiplus charged the battery and went in to float after a while. All good I left it for a day only to return finding that the Multiplus stopped working and my battery was at a low 10.3V as the DC system on board was still on. AC was working fine.

I checked using the connected Cerbo GX finding that the AC input was not recognised/accepted and the "Active AC input" listed as "disconnected". When in "inverter" mode, the system detects AC input at around 240V, 51 Hz. There is an isolation transformer between shore and ship net (Philippi TTR 2500). The inverter also worked putting out a near perfect 230V 50 Hz. Still, shore power was on and not detected/forwarded. Starting the Multiplus in "Charger only" mode will have the "Mains on" LED flash a few times, a few clicking noises and that nothing anyone. The "state" of the Multiplus then often lists as "fault" in the Cerbo but without any error codes.

I have seen people reporting similar issues before suggesting a firmware update. I upgraded the firmware to 500 for product ID 2609. The update did not resolve the issue unfortunately.

I would appreciate tips, pointers or otherwise that may get me a working Multi again.

Best regards,

Marc

multiplus ve.bus
2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.