question

hank-charles-moody avatar image
hank-charles-moody asked

Battery Voltage

Hey guys&galls,

will my system run with batteries at 56V? Even if this is is a general system-question, but would my choosen components from Victron Energy work together in this order?

yrsfltd6opv91.jpg

I'm a newbie, coming from IT and interested alot in this subject, made my research, just checking back with a community and looking for crowd opinion and experience.

It would be a PV expansion and extension with battery; my main concern is the battery voltage; Nissan Leaf Gen I Modules /8V, connected 7Series, giving me 56V but the inverter/charger is running on 48V.

I was elaborating this with some help of the yt video of an nz-guy and a redditor who already build his battery.

Curious what you say to the total system? The idea with used car-batteries vs LifePo4 cells?

Best regards,

Max

MPPT ControllersMultiPlus Quattro Inverter ChargerBMS
yrsfltd6opv91.jpg (235.4 KiB)
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
Jason - UK avatar image
Jason - UK answered ·

@hank_charles_moody The unit can go upto 66V.

1666692683693.png

I also am using car batteries for my ESS. I have 4 Tesla 22.2v (25.2v max) batteries in a 2S2P arrangement giving me a 44.4v system, 50.4v max. Schematic & photos on the below link if it helps.

https://vrm.victronenergy.com/installation/171934/share/db6807bb

1666692683693.png (247.1 KiB)
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Louis van der Walt avatar image
Louis van der Walt answered ·

You will be fine at 56V. If I remember correctly Victron can go up to small bit above 60V.

4 comments
2 |3000

hank-charles-moody avatar image hank-charles-moody commented ·
Thank you Louis!