question

marktj avatar image
marktj asked

Energy storage

I am looking to build a battery storage system to take avantage of cheaper electricity at night. I also want the ability to add solar later. Idealy I would like to begin with a simple system that charges at night and runs off batteries during the daytime. I have not purchased anything yet but I am looking at SOK 48v server batteries and a Multiplus 2 complete system with Cerbo GX for monitoring etc. I have spoken to a few installers and they all try to push me to their preferred solutions that always seem to put me into a system that someone else is controlling. My question is, am I on the right track? Is what I want possible and is my proposed choice of equipment the right way to go? I am a newbie so any help would be appreciated here, thanks.

Multiplus-IIMultiPlus Quattro Inverter Charger
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
nickdb avatar image
nickdb answered ·

Batteries are the most important (and expensive) part of the system, it is vital it communicates well with the ecosystem.

If they don't, then you can end up with an unstable system.

This is the supported list:

https://www.victronenergy.com/live/battery_compatibility:start

3rd party can be used but you won't receive support.

These are all tried and tested and proven over many, many installs.

It is always advised to stick with what works well, especially if you are new to this.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

marktj avatar image
marktj answered ·

@nickdb Thanks for the advice I will look at batteries again, Pylontech were a strong contender and I did look at a few others on this list also.