question

brandon1711 avatar image
brandon1711 asked

solar design

Hi,

im an apprentice for a electronics company and have been tasked with designing a solar site to bring down the cost of our bills at a radio site. this has all been done with my own research and very little background knowledge.

here is my design with some missing information but was wondering if anyone has any advice on how it looks and how i can make it better.

the site consumes 24kWh per day.

Four Lanes Solar Plan 20220613.pdf

thank you in advance.

victron community
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
kevgermany avatar image
kevgermany answered ·

Probably best you discuss with a victron dealer who will be familiar with local conditions.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

sharpener avatar image
sharpener answered ·

Meanwhile here are a few system design considerations you might think about:

Do you need to cope with grid failure and if so for how long? OTOH I see the Four Lanes radio site already has lots of kit so maybe the grid supply is robust enough (or is duplicated or has a stand-by generator)

With an average consumption of 1kW why do you show a 5kVA Multi, are there massive peak loads? If the grid is reliable then cheaper to leave it to handle the peaks and size the inverter for the steady state.

Charging through an MPPT avoids double conversion DC - AC - DC so will have slightly higher efficiency than using the Fronius you show, you can't do both at the same time.

2kW of panels (sic) won't give you 24kWh/day even in Cornwall on midsummer's day, so you will still use some grid power even on the best days. But it will probably not be economic to have enough capacity to run purely from solar PV year round so a balance has to be found.