question

artemo avatar image
artemo asked

Bad bmv-700 or did I wire something wrong?

Hello, I am new to this and am having an issue after installing some battleborn lithium batteries in my rv. Hoping someone can help.

• Replace 4 batteries with 4 battleborn lithium batteries
  • Replace my converter charger with lithium charger
  • Added victron dc-dc charger
  • Added bmv-700 battery monitor

After finishing up, my bmv is showing -77 watt, ~-6 amp draw with nothing on. Changing the battery disconnect relay position doesn’t change much, maybe a few watts. What’s weird is that overnight the bmv shows 0% soc, even though I’m plugged into shore power and the battery voltage remains anywhere between 13.6-14v. It’s my understanding that if the batteries really were drained, that the voltage would be 13.0v or lower. The shunt on the bmv is hooked up correctly, battery side to battery only, and the rest of the grounds on the other side of the shunt.

The rv has a battery control center box (sdc-107a) in which I have removed a transistor as recommended by the manufacturer, to disable its capability of charging the batteries from the alternator. I want only the victron dc-dc to charge the batteries. The battery control center has 3 wire posts. Chassis battery, coach battery, and battery disconnect. The wires connected to these posts are unchanged, with the exception of adding the dc-dc charger the the chassis battery post. I’ll include a picture of the battery control center box and it’s schematic if that would help. At this point I don’t know if wired something incorrectly, or if the bmv-700 is broken because I don’t believe the batteries would be at 13.6v if the soc was really at 0%. Someone please help. Thank you!

b76d31d6-7321-44f1-9f0b-0e87aeecca3a.jpeg

7d0ea2fe-f49b-40f9-b2ee-2463d79c1ec5.png

BMV Battery Monitororion dc-dc
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers