question

Tommy avatar image
Tommy asked

negative DC load?

I'm still new to victron but today I noticed my DC load go negative. What does that mean?

Currently my camper is sitting with no shore power and only the 12v refrigerator running.

screen-shot-2022-03-28-at-42459-pm.png

battery system voltage
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

11 Answers
Stefanie (Victron Energy Staff) avatar image
Stefanie (Victron Energy Staff) answered ·

@tommyg

A negative DC load is indicating ingoing charge, most probably from a Victron source or 3rd party charger, which is not connected to your GX device. As you can see, the battery is being charged with 369W. 260W coming from your MPPT and another 109W from another charge source.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Tommy avatar image
Tommy answered ·

Agree that is what it looks like. However the RV is not connected to shore power. It’s isolated from the chassis battery. There is no other charging source.

Could I have something wired incorrectly?

1 comment
2 |3000

>> Could I have something wired incorrectly? <<

Maybe you wanna share a wiring diagram or images of your installation. And how exactly did you wire the BMV/SmartShunt?

0 Likes 0 ·
Eric M. avatar image
Eric M. answered ·

Do you have any sort of alternator charge to the batteries? Like a DC-DC charger or even a parallel connection to starter battery?

I see this output whenever my engine starts and my Orion charger kicks on. It’s a bit of a lame number because it’s showing my alternator output minus any DC house side loads pulling from it, basically just what current is left over going into my batteries. But it’s around that number under load usually, so that would be my vote.