question

ergo30 avatar image
ergo30 asked

Cerbo GX SSH Root Access - always getting connection refused.

Hi all. I have searched over the forums and Google but cant seem to find a solution to this. I must be doing something wrong here. My background is IT so am used to using SSH so it must be something not set correctly on my Cerbo GX.

I have tried to SSH into my Cerbo GX, I have set my user to User/Installer, thats the highest level I can choose. I have enabled remote support and I have enabled Password Check in the remote support menu. Everytime I try to connect via SSH I get 'Connection refused'.

I am using the MAC Terminal to connect, the SSH line I am using is 'SSH root@XX.XX.XX.XX.

It just returns 'Connection Refused' everytime, with or without the Password Check enabled. Every time I make changes to the remote support menu I reboot the Cerbo GX so in my mind everything has been followed.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated, I have followed a few peoples steps for connection but obviously no luck yet.

Thanks.

Simon

cerbo gxsshroot
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
Stefanie (Victron Energy Staff) avatar image
Stefanie (Victron Energy Staff) answered ·

Hi @Ergo30

For root access you'd need superuser access level. See also the Venus: Root Access documentation.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

ergo30 avatar image
ergo30 answered ·

Stephanie, you are a hero, your comment made me question my steps and then re-reading the instructions (which I had read before but obviously only skimmed over) I had missed the step to 'Press and hold down the right arrow key'. I will now try further to see if I can connect now as this changed me over to 'Super User' and then I could enable SSH. Thanks again.

2 |3000

ergo30 avatar image
ergo30 answered ·