question

philipp-hinteregger avatar image
philipp-hinteregger asked

Victron Setup for Sailboat - Feedback for wiring diagram

Dear Victron-Community,

as a winter project I was thinking of replacing some of my boat electronics. I tried to make a wiring diagram for it as you can see attached. Most of you will probably see what I want to achieve. The wire diagram might not be perfect as I'm a biologist not a technician, but I tried my best :-)

As the boat is also used for racing - weight reduction (in terms of battery weight) is a key factor. But in summer times i also enjoy staying away from shore power for longer periods.

installation-victron2023.jpg

I'm not planning to use Victron batteries for different reasons, so I will use a 132Ah LiFePo4 Pack with an REC BMS (Victron compatible). As a starter battery I was thinking of one of the new A123 batteries, as they will manage high loads as needed for starting engines. Not sure if I'll take 20 or 40Ah - based on my experiences the small one should do the job easily. The Alternator (80Ah) is charging the battery direct, when full (quite quick) the Orion will take over and charge the leisure-battery. A SmartShunt is measuring starter-battery status. For shore-power I am going to connect a Phoenix 1+1 to the leisure battery and with 3A to the starter battery. Additionally, a BlueSolar is used only for charging the leisure battery when anchoring in summer. Everything (except the Orion) is connected to a CerboGX wich is connected to a Raymarine Axiom+.

I'd love to read your opinions and feedback to my system - I'm quite sure the is place for improvement. Thanks a lot in advance!

Philipp

installation
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4 Answers
mvader (Victron Energy) avatar image
mvader (Victron Energy) answered ·

Hi, its quite hard to give comments on a design. Thats also why in the guidelines we’ve written something about it.