question

mrhappy avatar image
mrhappy asked

How many battery pairs can one balancer balance?

I am studying Victrons documents on wiring, really good info. Regarding battery balancing I came across this page explaining how to make sure you can use one balancer for several strings of battery pairs:

battery-bank-midpoint.png

My question is, how many strings can one balancer handle? If I have 10 strings of two 75Ah AGM batteries per string, can I then connect all midpoints and use only one balancer to keep them all balanced? How about 16 strings, which my battery bank have?

I am at the moment on the fence about whether to buy one victron balancer or import 16 chinese balancers so I would have one balancer per string.

Any thoughts?

batteryBattery Balancer
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
Alexandra avatar image
Alexandra answered ·

@MrHappy

If it is a 48 volts system a minimum of three, with 24 volt then you can use one, it will take longer to balance though so you can add more balancers to each string. 1A/0.7A per balancer balancing ability, once the threshold is triggered.

http://bb-demo.victronenergy.com/

1629039224638.png

Going by the manual, it is one balancer per string, so if you ave 16 strings, it is 16 balancers.

What voltage is your system though? Maybe some clarification with a battery connection diagram would help clear up how many you need.

As the manual suggests though, if you use a bmv and you get the midpoint from that then you can use less balancers in the system, I reiterate it can take longer to balance a system that way, especially if you did not start by charging and setting up the bank correctly in the first place.

1629039224638.png (402.8 KiB)
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

mrhappy avatar image
mrhappy answered ·

Hi Alexandra.