question

stretchslr avatar image
stretchslr asked

Which SmartSolar MPPT solar charge controller for my 52V VOC panels?

I own 3 Lion Energy solar panels. These 100 W panels output 52V VOC (as measured by my voltmeter). I'd like to run 2 or 3 of them (in series), potentially producing 104V or 156V VOC, in order to charge the LiFePO4 batteries in my travel trailer. Will the Victron SmartSolar MPPT 100/20 handle two of these solar panels? Will a SmartSolar 150/XX handle all three of my panels? Or should I use a 150/XX and only run two of them?

MPPT Controllers
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
Alexandra avatar image
Alexandra answered ·

@stretchslr

The voltage (VOC) limit is a hard limit. You can parallel connect them but not series (to add up the voltage). You could probably do all three 100W divided by 52v VOC means they only output 2A or so? Let me add I have no experience with these panels.

Probably should check them with a meter, there are no specs on the website. but they can at most put out 25A in theory (300W / 12V = 25A assuming it is a 12v system)

https://www.victronenergy.com/mppt-calculator this page will recommend the best one for your panels and set up.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

stretchslr avatar image
stretchslr answered ·

Thanks for your reply.

Here are the specs from my Lion energy panels from a sticker on the device:

Maximum Power: 100W

Current at Pmax (Imp): 2.85A

Voltage at Pamax(VMP): 35V (Should be 'Pmax'??)

Short-Circuit Current:ISC): 3.13A

Open-Circuit Voltage: 43.2V

I am told the panels run in parallel when chained together using the Anderson cables provided. Thus even with all 3 panels connected, I should have no more than 44V VOC. (My voltmeter measures closer to 50V, but may be inaccurate?)