question

avanianahata avatar image
avanianahata asked

Charger Controller State is Off during daytime

Hi,

I am new to solar and off grid life. We have a Victron energy mppt 250 | 100 charge controller and 6 200 watt solar panels. Up until today our set up has been great. When I checked today our charge controller state says off and says 0 watts, I checked the why does my charger say OFF and it says insufficient PV power. It is a crappy day (full cloud coverage & rain) but in the past it has still been able to pull /charge some watts. I’m just looking for some insight! Is it because of the crappy weather or could it be something more? I attached photos and any advise would be so helpful! Thanks! 467f4609-36f7-4346-9fa5-f032909e1891.png6c4a1c8e-c49f-4112-99e5-0fffccf6c918.png

79778839-6274-4c9c-8fd8-1b0d19c2e1b4.png

MPPT Controllers
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
Matthias Lange - DE avatar image
Matthias Lange - DE answered ·

Even on a cloudy day the PV voltage should be higher and you should get some energy.
You may have to check the PV wiring.

PS: Your PV voltage is very close to the maximum of 150V that your MPPT handle.
On cold and sunny days the PV voltage gets higher and could exceed 150V.

6 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

avanianahata avatar image avanianahata commented ·

Thank you for the reply, I rechecked and we actually have the 250 | 100 mppt charger not 150| 100

0 Likes 0 ·
avanianahata avatar image avanianahata commented ·

I checked all the wiring and it looks fine. No connection breaks, nothing is loose and no fuses or breaker have tripped. Not really sure what to do at this point since it’s still saying the same thing.

0 Likes 0 ·
Matthias Lange - DE avatar image Matthias Lange - DE ♦ avanianahata commented ·