question

trungt avatar image
trungt asked

Mulitplus II 48/5000 tripping RCD

Hi all,

I wondered if any can help me on this one...?? I am a bit of a novice on electrical matters and so, i would appreciate you taking things a bit easy on me (for all you experts out there!!)

I have an AC feed in from the house to a RCD and then through a 20A breaker to my Multiplus II 48/5000. I am using the earth from the house mains to a busbar. The casing of the multiplus is connected to the earth busbar. AC In setting at 16Amps via VE Config. Battery cable is connected. the AC Out cable is also connected and fed back into the house as a second ring.

When I flick the Mains In RCD (30mA)switch, it trips it immediately? I am not 100% sure what the problem is but possibly too much leakage from the earth coming from the house?

I am considering purchasing an earth rod and set up a different earth circuit and connect the earth from the rod to the Multiplus and also for the casing earth.

My questions then are:

1) Does anyone have any idea why the RCD is tripping immediately?

2) If I use the earth rod and connect the earth from there to the multiplus (AC In) and also the casing earth, what do I do with the earth cable from the Mains AC In cable?

3) I have considered another RCD - perhaps 120mA but, I have been inform that 30mA should be fine.

I would appreciate any ideas, answers and feedback that you have.

Many thanks !

Multiplus-II
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Rob Duthie avatar image Rob Duthie commented ·

Hui

First all these should be installed by a registered electrician who has experience in these and earthing systems to comply with local regulations etc.

Also adding or changing a earth rod connection requires a inspection from a inspector in NZ, as this is regarded as mains works and is dangerous.