question

eapatten avatar image
eapatten asked

Wiring sizes for Victron Energy Orion-Tr Smart 12/12-Volt 30 amp 360-Watt DC-DC Charger, Isolated

Good morning,

I had a quick question regarding wiring gauge for the charger.

I am installing the charger in my travel trailer and on the input side (pickup truck) I am connecting it to my starter battery on my pickup truck (I have a 220A Alternator). FYI - I am not an electrician or mechanic and wanted to check what I am doing is safe and will work with the Charger.

With that the total cable run is 10-12 meters which according to the Victron manual is 16mm2 (6 AWG), however, other references call for 4 AWG. This is based on cable run length (10M), 40A max load at 12V. Will the Charger accept a 4 gauge (AWG) cable?

Please let me know if you have any questions. I have attached a diagram for your reference.

Thank you very much for your help.

Have a great day.

Best regards
Eric Patten

Truck Side Dc to DC Charging Diagram.pdf

orion-tr smartwiring
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
rodneyab avatar image
rodneyab answered ·

@eapatten To answer only one part of your question, The charger terminals accept 6AWG. You can set up your long cable run from your starter battery with a much heavier cable, then step it down to 6AWG very close to the charger with 'power posts' terminals.

1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

eapatten avatar image eapatten commented ·

Thank you very much...

0 Likes 0 ·
Bob K avatar image
Bob K answered ·

Are you including the positive and negative conductor lengths to determine the total circuit length of 12 meters? That's necessary (a mistake I made when I installed the DC charger).